Moving Forward

April 27, 2013

I want to try a different kind of writing.

This morning on one of my long walks, working through a familiar train of thought, I came to a certain point where I felt a long digression coming on. Not wanting to lose the main thread, I put up a mental flag to mark the point and tell myself as it were “this can be fleshed out at length another time.” Then I realized that I could do the same sort of thing in  online writing simply by providing links.

The idea is that  maybe instead of blog posts I should put the bulk of my thinking into what WordPress calls “pages,” free from the burden of chronology; I can spin out arguments at length,  revise them whenever I get a chance, and above all link pages to one another to create a larger and more complex structure.

Meanwhile “posts” like this, which go out to my Twitter and Facebook followers, can serve as progress reports with links to whatever I’m doing on the pages.

Let’s see if I can get this to work.

Leave a Reply

