Standard Time

November 5, 2007

For years now I’ve been in the habit of turning my clocks back or forward in the morning of the time change, after getting up, rather than the night before like they tell us to do.

I figure if I’m going to gain an hour, I want to be awake to enjoy it; and if I’m to lose an hour I’d rather lose it when I can make adjustments to my routine and work around it, instead of having it come out of my sleep.

Yesterday evening I decided to try something even more unconventional. I enjoyed the extra hour yesterday morning so much I wasn’t ready to give it up, so I put my bedroom back on Daylight Savings.  Turned everything forward again, so I was reading the time that corresponded to how my body felt and the sky looked. I went to bed the same astronomical time, the same body-rhythm time as the night before; and in the wee hours of the morning, whenever I woke or half-woke  and looked at my bedside clock, it told me the time that it felt like, so I was able to get up and out comfortably by the same solar time that I was used to. Once out in the real world, I put my watch back again so I was in sync with everyone else – just up an hour earlier! It felt great, and I’m going to keep it up a few days longer if I can.

Leave a Reply

